• Photogallery: IOI Awards and Closing Ceremony

    by  • July 16, 2013 • Sophie Lester, stories • 0 Comments

    The International Olympiad in Informatics concluded on Friday July 12 with a vibrant awards ceremony celebrations at Anglican Church Grammar School in East Brisbane.


    The Singaporean Team await award announcements.


    The audience at the award’s ceremony were entertained by traditional Indigenous Australian dance.


    A Torres Strait Islander singing group performed for the IOI assembly before announcing gold medal winners.


    Australia’s Ishraq Huda (fifth from left) stands amongst one group of bronze medal winners in the IOI 2013.


    Silver medal winners at the IOI 2013 award ceremony: (left to right) Ray Li (Australia), Andrew Carlotti (UK), Danial Mehrjerdi (Iran), Riazanov Artur (Russia), Krzysztof Pszeniczny (Poland), Bumsoo Park (Korea), Marek Sommer (Poland), Nathan Azaria (Indonesia), Thanh Dat Duong (Vietnam), Jules Pondard (France), Johnny Ho (USA).


    Scott Wu (USA) is awarded a gold medal for placing fifth in the IOI 2013.


    Gold medal winners at IOI 2013: (left to right) Scott Wu (USA), Hristo Venev (Bulgaria), Federico Glaudo (Italy), Kai-Chi Huang (Taiwan), Kangning Wang (China), Seyed Hamed Valizadeh-Toosi (Iran), Konstantin Semenov (Russian Federation), Joshua Brakensiek (USA), Renato Ferreira (Brazil), Geunwoo Bae (Korea)


    Tied third place winners Nikolay Kalinin (Russian Federation) and Haoran Xu (China).


    Second place winner Mingda Qiao (China).


    First place winner of the International Olympiad in Informatics 2013 Lijie Chen (China) awarded gold medal and trophy by President of the IOI International Committee Richard Forster and Chair of the IOI Professor Peter Taylor

    Passing of the flag

    Passing of the flag – Richard Forster and Peter Taylor pass on the IOI flag to the Taiwanese delegate for the IOI 2014 to be held in Taipei.


    A Croatian hat is planted on statue in Magnus Quad at the closing ceremony at Anglican Church Grammar School in East Brisbane.

    Team Hungary

    Team Hungary: (left to right) Team Leader Gyula Horváth, Dániel Simig, András Leitereg, Vendel Nagy, Gellért Weisz, volunteer, Deputy Leader László Zsakó

    Team Russian Federation

    Team Russian Federation: (left to right) Dmitry Gorbunov, Nikolay Kalinin, Konstantin Semenov, Riazanov Artur

    Team Indonesia

    Team Indonesia: (left to right) Ammar Fathin Sabili, Stefano Chiesa Suryanto, Jonathan Irvin Gunawan, Nathan Azaria

    Team United Kingdom

    Team United Kingdom: Toby Cathcart Burn (front left), Andrew Carlotti (front right), James Clarke (second left) and Sathyanandha Saravanan (second right) with Team Leaders Fieke Dekkers (top right) and Robin Elliott and President of the IOI International Committee Richard Forster (top centre) of the UK

    Ukraine and Belarus Team contestants with US Team

    Ukraine and Belarus Team contestants with US Team:(left to right) Joshua Brakensiek (US), Kanstantsin Vilcheuski, Roman Rubanenko (Ukraine), Johnny Ho (US), Mark Gordon (back – US Deputy Leader), Siarhei Kulik, Scott Wu (US) Kanstantsin Sokal, Uladzislau Padtsiolkin

    Team Germany

    Team Germany: (left to right) contestants Paul Jungeblut, Lucas Elbert (front), Lukas Köbis, Juliane Baldus, Team Leader Wolfgang Pohl and Deputy Leader Fabian Gundlach

    Austrian and Australian Teams

    Australian & Austrian Teams: (left to right) Front row – Joshua Lau, Adrian Goldwaser, Austin Tankiang, Stephanie Huber (Austria), Peter Ralbovsky (Austria). Back row – James Payor, Ray Li, Nicholas Laver, Ishraq Huda, Michael Chen, Gary Ye (Austria), Thomas Tangl (Austria)

    Australian and New Zealand Teams

    (left to right) Front row – Joshua Lau, Austin Tankiang, Ray Li, Ishraq Huda, Michael Chen. Back row – James Payor, Logan Glasson, Byung Hoon Cho, Tony Sun, Alan Ansell, Nicholas Laver, Adrian Goldwaser

    Ukrainian and Japanese contestants celebrate after the awards ceremony

    Ukrainian and Japanese contestants celebrate after the awards ceremony:(left to right) Yo Mitani, Tsuyoki Kumazaki, Roman Furko, Kohji Liu, Roman Rubanenko

    For more photos from IOI 2013 go to www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/
    For a full list of the medal winners at IOI 2013 go to www.ioi2013.org/competition/results/


    Sophie is a journalism arts student with a passion for all things culture. She majors in psychology and sociology, and is fascinated by people’s stories and how they make sense of the world. She is well-traveled, occasionally suffering from wanderlust and is interested in music, film, literature, science and technology, and arts. She learns fast, works hard, and is never afraid to grab hold of a story and get her hands dirty. She hopes to combine her broad interests in to a career that will take her around the world when she graduates in 2014.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *